Home > Comedy, Film > Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds – Sweet and sour sauce?

Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds – Sweet and sour sauce?

Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds is a gay comedy. It’s about two gay boyfriends who break up, and then begin fighting over a confused semi-queer to try and turn him to the gay side. When all’s said and done it had a few good jokes and it kept my interest. The whole thing was incredibly unrealistic, what with virtually every single person in the world being gay, but hey… It was fun while it lasted. A lot of weird shit happened and about half the movie is already lost to me although I finished it under a minute ago. I’d never watch it again. Doesn’t mean I regret watching it this once. There was gay sex, straight sex, jokes about both kinds of sex, and not a whole lot else.

The thing about Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds is that it was obviously devised to be tantalizing. I’m not a big fan of movies that exist to be sexually appealing and not much else. It’s one thing for an action movie to be full of big-busted babes, but it’s a whole new ball game when a film is only about said babes. When your only draw is hot guys I just don’t see much reason to be watching the film. The movie barely transcends this by adding some decent humour and an okay roster of characters, but I still got the feeling while watching it that the director didn’t really have any interest in furthering the homosexual cause or even making a film for gays to connect with. No, this is the very definition of popcorn cinema. There is nothing here for the audience to eat up except for their own most basic instincts. It doesn’t feel like a fantasy for the audience so much as it does for the director and the cast. Although I’m not opposed to this in itself, and you could make an argument that it makes for a much more deeply personal film, I don’t think that’s so much the case with Eating Out 2: Sloppy Seconds.

It should be noted that I haven’t seen the first Eating Out, so I was kind of thrust into the whole world without much background knowledge. I picked up on just about everything within the first five minutes, but I’m still not sure if maybe I missed a few jokes or references here and there. Mink Stole’s performance is the stand out of the show, although she’s barely in it. She still casts a kind of fun light over the few scenes she’s in. The rest of the actors are obviously gay models who were recruited to act for the picture, but they do a good job. They’re fun people and I’d probably hang out with them if they’d accept me for the weak and gangly straight-er that I am.

That being said, the film’s score was completely unremarkable, and the cinematography was servicable at best. They continually forgot very basic rules like the 180 degree rule, the 30 degree rule, etc. This made the film more confusing. Although these rules are more like guidelines that can be broken by somebody who knows what they’re doing, it was evident that whoever did the cinematography on this didn’t. I’m not an expert on film, but I know the most basic rules. I’m sure this guy did too. I’m willing to bet it was the editor who fudged up just going by how these moments play out.

I also had a problem with the film’s props. It was like a highschool art class designed everything that needed to be hand made. You could always tell what was going on, but it just looked cheap and lazy. Boring, basic drawings and hand drawn posters with not a single thing looking professionally made. It worked for what it was, but hey, I would’ve probably hired a designer or something. It’s not like there were that many pieces that needed to be designed.

Also, not that I want to spoil it, but a guy cums on his mom in front of a large group of people.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment